We Are All Just Bees

Am I a secretary to my husband, or am I a boss to him?

In this era where gender equality is still being fought-for, I would understand when people think that a husband is the boss and a wife is the secretary.

It’s untrue. I know…! Right?

Nevertheless, when I deal with people, and they get exasperated with me, the first thing they would say is: “Can I speak to your husband…?”

As if saying: “Can I speak to the restaurant manager? I don’t want to speak to a low-life-waitress like you!”

Nothing…

I mean…

NOTHING... would anger me more than that… as if I am just a daftย bimbo…? ย (As if I have big enough breasts to be a bimbo anyway?)

  1. One time (and still on-going) I got into a difficult conflict with the visa center in Ghana of the UK Border Agency. After a long tiring discussion, the officer said, “Perhaps you can come again with your husband, tomorrow?” (!!@#$$%^%$$#@#!!) Ha…! As if my husband would know what to say and what has happened… I single handedly dealt with everything!
  2. Once, a Ghanaian plumber came to our house to fix the washing machine tap. Apparently he refused to take order from me because I was only a woman. He demanded to speak to my husband and so he started to talk shit to me. Needless to say, I called the building management and had that ‘God-forsaken-plumber’ fired at point blank. He shouldn’t have messed with me.
  3. Well, many other examples but I won’t waste time on them.

I am the brain of the family. Yes, that sounds arrogant,ย and… trashy, but I am.๐Ÿ˜€ (I can feel my husband is rolling his eyes behind my back, but let him be)

My husband always comes to me when something needs deciding or when something needs considering or when something needs taking into action.

But why?

It’s not because he’s telling me to do those things, as in: “Oi! Secretary! Come here! I need 4 copies of these documents!”

Everything is more like “Excuse me boss… do you think I need to make 4 copies of these documents?”

๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜€

He appreciates my opinions. He needs my approvals. -Oh bless his heart…๐Ÿ˜€

Once, my husband told me that he is just like an old faithful dog. He only needs a little love to keep him going. -Oh let’s bless his heart even more…!๐Ÿ˜€

But nobody is the faithful dog, nobody is the master. Nobody is the boss, nobody is the secretary. We are all just bees in the end. We carry around some little mud with us, we then build a bee hive where there are flowers nearby, and we live happily ever after in that little hive.

My husband happens to be the worker bee.

And I am the Queen bee.


With our little son as a wanna bee.

“bzz….. bzz…. bzz….”

Dian Retno Wulandari. Gender equality, ah… taste the sweetness!

PS: Later that evening, the plumber called my husband and had some man-to-man conversation. The plumber told him that his wife is a bitch. *LOL*

PPS: Do I really look like a daft bimbo? Or does this happen to every housewife??

10 responses to “We Are All Just Bees

  1. why do i need man?
    ofcourse to get me manly things (done for me) —ex: cleaning the bathroom, fix the antenna, throw the dead rat, dealing with plumber, etc.
    in bahasa, punya laki2 yang akan melakukan pekerjaan laki2 –meskipun aku bisa.
    do i call him a hero or potter here?
    guess he wudnt care the different as long im loving him so well
    *gombal mode on :D*

  2. Hi Dian, love your post.
    When my ego burns, I sing that โ€œI will surviveโ€ song over and over. But it usually doesnโ€™t last for long till I find that my children are sick or I run out of cooking gas, then I start to sing โ€œHow do I live without youโ€๐Ÿ™‚. I and husband started as friends, and even until now, we keep being annoying friends to each other.

  3. love the “baby wanna bee”!

    i was just looking for bee graphics and came across your blog.. kinda cute! I love the way you have put this. glad to know people dont take life and things very seriously.. after all, we all are just bees, and just bee-ing loved by everybody.!

Leave a Reply

