How to Prove God Is There

Well, we can’t prove it. Period.

But we can feel it, if we allow ourselves to. It’s rather like when someone loves you. How do you prove it to other people that you’re being loved by someone? By telling the world that you get nice diamonds, and some nice flowers every weekend? Or by telling the world that the someone sends you text every 5 minutes?

No, only you can tell that someone loves you. But how? To put it simply, it’s because you feel it. It is of course a whole combination of things, the kind that only you and your lover will understand. Your gardener won’t understand it, your maid won’t understand it, and even your psychologist won’t understand it.

The same applies to one’s faith of God’s existence. Because one feels it. It is not much more complicated than that, really… And no guys…, we believe in the existence of God NOT because we are dumb or delusional or can’t cope with science. Please don’t reduce it down to stupidity.

I happen to belong to a religion that does encourage science, and God knows I truly believe in science, I was so good at it I wanted to be an astrophysicist (I ended up as an industrial statistician instead, since it’s economically more viable).

While I am a true believer of God, I don’t believe in creationism. I am, therefore, a huge fan of the Big Bang Theory and Darwin’s evolutions. I also seriously doubt that babies fall from the sky -even if they’re brought down by storks.🙂

(I consider myself lucky as my religion taught us that everything in the world happens after following some kind of processes, therefore I don’t need to go through the hassles of separating science from faith, or naturalism from creationism.)

But how do I quantify the existence of God? (Putting aside the baffling question: what/who holds the universe in place) my easiest answer is classic: God answers my prayers -even though I get a “No!” quite frequently.🙂

Certain things have happen in my life that strikingly relate to what I have prayed for. Things that can’t be just coincidences after coincidences. Strange things that only happens if I’ve prayed for it.

You’re dying for me to give examples, right?😀 Ok, here are two for you:

  1. Many years ago, I prayed to God: “Lord, please let me know if my boyfriend is messing around with another girl.” — Two hours later my boy friend accidentally sent a text to me that was supposed to be sent to his other girl. (sad example, I know)
  2. I am totally useless at all things music, thus I am blind to musical notes. I don’t even know why there’s a sign that looks like a G at the beginning of all musical notes. So when I was 15, the night before Art&Music exam I prayed: “Lord, please let me answer those notes thingy correctly. Let me get an A for Art&Music Lord… I need it so that I can be the best in class this term” — During exam the next day, I scribbled through the blank paper for musical note pretending that it was just some easy quadratic equation, sweating my head off nevertheless.  Two weeks later my exam result came in. Lo and behold, I got an excellent A for Music. I magically put every single note at the right grid with the right punctuation with the right interval… everything! I fell down on my knee holding the result paper.🙂 Anyway, regardless the miracle, I only came second in my class that term.

Now then, enough examples, it’s not as if it’s going to change anything for you, right? Having said that, answered-prayers is just one way of quantifying God’s existence for me. My relationship with God is a lot more complex than just asking and giving, but I’ll keep the rest to myself for now.

If you’re an atheist and say: “So why does God never answer my prayers?!”

Well, back at you: “Did you pray at all?” or “Did you really believe that Someone is listening?”

Don’t get me wrong here, I don’t mind atheists, not at all… Atheists could be some of the most fun people I’ve met. And if you choose not to believe in God, and you are happier like that, well then good for you.

But here I make a plea to those atheists who keep condescend the believer of God by having verbal diarrhoea about how believers do so only because we are stupid, or backward, or ancient, or brainwashed, or delusional, or dense, etc… to please stop condescending. It is just… uhm… not very nice.

There…, my 2 cents (or should I say 2 pesewas..?)🙂

Dian Retno Wulandari.

PS: Whichever way God manifests for you (Allah, Jehovah, Brahman, Achaman, whatever…) please be at peace with it, we all know that –in any case- believing is harder than not believing.

PPS:

In Islam: God exists without a place. God is not limited to time and space, nor is God composed of particles and atoms. God is unique. God is an invisible omnipotent presence.

“God is closer to a man than his jugular vein.” [Al-Quran 50:16]

In Christianity: God is immanent. God is with and within all things. God is transcendent, God is outside time and space, therefore eternal and unchangeable by forces within the universe.

“You cannot see God, and live” [Exodus 33:20]

9 responses to “How to Prove God Is There

  1. I know how to prove the existence of God. The same way I can prove how much passion I have for art, how big is my love for my children, how deep is the fear of death, and what color is creativity. Makes sense, right? Trying to put God under the microscope would be like the cartoon character to fully understand the cartoonist. Sounds impossible? Maybe because it is. I believe in God because of my experience, and belief implies that I still don’t know for sure, but that is ok. I don’t know almost anything in life anyways. I still seek Him and trust that one day I will know Him fully. In the mean time, all I can do is believe. Great post and beautiful picture too! Have a blessed day!

  2. I had a term when I didn’t really believe in God, I didn’t belong to any religion, I had some questions about religion e.g. :
    1. Why there must be any sin , reward , punishment , hell and heaven
    2. If we believe in one religion, how about people who believe in other religion ? will they go to heaven after death or hell always be ready for them although they’ve done many good things entire their life?
    3. Why do people doing good things, helping other people? Is that because they want heaven? Or is that because they’re really honest and full of integrity in doing it?

    After a long way of thinking I have conclusion that God is full of love and religion is a guidance to live our life, the way of life that will bring peace to the world and we’ll live peacefully if we live in God’s way. The more we learn about science the more we know how Great God is.

    • 1. Because it is the nature of human to go astray, to be chaotic. Therefore reward and punishment is just one way of keeping things straight forward. Black on white. The same reasons all countries have their own laws. No?
      2. Heaven and hell are the secrets of God. We will find out one day -I believe. But belonging to a religion (or even praying) doesn’t make people go to heaven. It’s doing good that matters. If God can put a dog into heaven, surely God can be fair about every other thing in life (or afterlife for that matter)
      3. No. I genuinely believe that good people do good because they are good. If they do something for a reward (like wanting to go to heaven) then they surely are not good. Right?

      Yes exactly, religion is a way of life. It is just a way of expressing gratitude to this abundant life. It shouldn’t be a segregation, nor an organisation.

    • P*cking is a forbidden word in my religion. *Lol*
      I cannot write with outlines, so I won’t be a good novelist. But one day, when I am really famous (for solving the anti-gravity equation) I will let you write my biography.😀

  3. Nice write up…easy to swallow. Btw, I am a believer, and never was I doubt about God’s existence. Just today I found this site, very interesting and live..I’ve subscribed and promised to stop by everyday. Small note, I was raised in Kampoeng and not at all English-friendly environment untill I got a job in Jakarta that forced me to learn that strange bahasa —otherwise I won’t survive. I will post comments, but if you find it funny, pls let me know..I don’t mind at all. Mbak Ulan…Kenalin saya Ali..

    • Hi Ali, nice to make your acquaintance. Thank you for your kind comment. Your English is superb by the way, especially that you were not familiar with it since an early age. You must be one of those people who can just switch language like switching the light on and off. Brava.🙂 Ali, kenalin saya Ulan.

Leave a Reply

